Need help with your PC or Modding Projects?
Mephikun
128-bit
 
Posts: 559
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 6:27 pm
Location: Maine

PS2 Slim power cord on PSOne?

by Mephikun Sat Mar 31, 2012 9:31 am

I got a PSOne 3 months ago, and tested it with my PS2 power cord, not realizing that the PS2's is a 12v, and the PSOne takes a 7.5v. It worked fine... should I keep using it that way? It's not a huge deal if it breaks, I paid $5 for it. I prefer the form factor of the SCPH-101 over my SCPH-9001 :P And if worse comes to worse, I've got the SCPH-9001 to fall back on.
Image
User avatar
ZenErik
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 4187
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:15 am
Location: Boston

Re: PS2 Slim power cord on PSOne?

by ZenErik Sat Mar 31, 2012 9:37 am

That will damage the PSone. Extra amperage is fine, but additional voltage is not.
My B/S/T thread! :)
Switch ID: ??? ||| PSN ID: ZenErik (PS4) ||| Steam: Erikdayo
Mephikun
128-bit
 
Posts: 559
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 6:27 pm
Location: Maine

Re: PS2 Slim power cord on PSOne?

by Mephikun Sat Mar 31, 2012 9:45 am

Grr. I don't have $20 to spend on a stupid power cable... inflated eBay prices suck :S

Thanks though
Image
User avatar
CRTGAMER
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 11933
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:59 am
Location: Southern California

Re: PS2 Slim power cord on PSOne?

by CRTGAMER Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:19 pm

Why risk frying your PSOne? I see tons of power suppies at the Swap Meet averaging a buck apiece. Doesn't have to be the Sony brand as long as the voltage is 7.5 DC and is at least 2.2 amps

Amazon has them used under ten bucks: http://www.amazon.com/ADAPTOR-SCPH-113- ... B001DIFV98
Image
CRT vs LCD - Hardware Mods - HDAdvance - Custom Controllers - Game Storage - Wii Gamecube and other Guides:
CRTGAMER Guides in Board Guides Index: http://www.racketboy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=1109425#p1109425

Image
Image
User avatar
Anapan
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 3106
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:15 am
Location: BC, Canada

Re: PS2 Slim power cord on PSOne?

by Anapan Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:01 pm

I have an extra one. I'll send it for cost of shipping (from Canada). I can even throw in a car/cigarette adapter I'll never use for free.
ImageImageImageImage
ImageImageImageImage
Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest