Need help with your PC or Modding Projects?
User avatar
benderx
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1126
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 10:07 pm

Re: Best Video Connections

by benderx Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:08 am

Anapan wrote:
benderx wrote:Anyone use of (vga) converters for consoles. I don't have s-video on my hd tv :( I do have fios but that doesn't help. recommendations for n64, ps1, and genesis for an hd tv?

For $32 this might do what you want - it's a bit blurry on the 480i stuff, and the deinterlacer isn't perfect, but it's also not $200:
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.28534


thank you im looking into it in cheap up to $45 is my limit.
Last edited by benderx on Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
You took too long, now your candy's gone. That's What happens. Bkowwwww. (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
User avatar
Anapan
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 3018
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:15 am
Location: BC, Canada

Re: Best Video Connections

by Anapan Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:16 am

I can take some pictures of it's output if you want to see what it does. It's close to the picture of Silent Hill earlier in this thread. The whites are a little grainy, and depending on the source it leaves thin black bars on the sides of the screen. Still, it's the probably best you'll get in your price range.
ImageImageImageImage
ImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Hateshinai
128-bit
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:13 am
Location: Malta,AKA the Arse End of Europe

Re: Best Video Connections

by Hateshinai Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:20 am

PAL N64s cannot be modded to output RGB. It only works on some NTSC ones. I heard rumours that some early french N64s were moddable but nothing concrete.
Mostly harmless
User avatar
benderx
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 1126
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 10:07 pm

Re: Best Video Connections

by benderx Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:25 am

its okay if you want to, but I'm going to wait a month. The only thing I hate is scan lines on a tv. At the moment I'm kinda angry because my ebaypackage hasn't arrived yet, I might make a complaint (scam) if becomes serious by end of this week.
You took too long, now your candy's gone. That's What happens. Bkowwwww. (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
User avatar
thelolotov
32-bit
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 3:17 pm

Re: Best Video Connections

by thelolotov Wed Mar 02, 2011 7:48 am

benderx wrote:Anyone use of (vga) converters for consoles. I don't have s-video on my hd tv :( I do have fios but that doesn't help. recommendations for n64, ps1, and genesis for an hd tv?


You might have already considered this, or have some reason you want to use your PS1, but why not get a PS2? They can output component, and are pretty cheap these days.
Image
User avatar
Xeogred
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 14385
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 7:49 pm
Location: KC

Re: Best Video Connections

by Xeogred Wed Mar 02, 2011 12:30 pm

Scooter wrote:Oh, and it is possible to get S-video out of the Sega Genesis without mods using an external S-video box. I have one and it works great. It works like the hard to find XMD boxes that were sold in Japan. A guy who shows up on Sega-16 makes and sells them.

http://www.sega-16.com/forum/showthread ... hip&page=2

Is this how you'd set it up for a Saturn as well?
User avatar
XxBroBuzzxX
32-bit
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 9:01 pm

Re: Best Video Connections

by XxBroBuzzxX Sat Apr 23, 2011 11:47 pm

Quick question that's gonna sound stupid: Will a PS2 component cable work on my non-HD CRT? I just wanna be 100% sure it'll work before I buy it. :P
(Here's the cables I'm looking into buying: Link)
User avatar
thelolotov
32-bit
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 3:17 pm

Re: Best Video Connections

by thelolotov Sun Apr 24, 2011 12:58 am

XxBroBuzzxX wrote:Quick question that's gonna sound stupid: Will a PS2 component cable work on my non-HD CRT? I just wanna be 100% sure it'll work before I buy it. :P
(Here's the cables I'm looking into buying: Link)


If your CRT has component inputs, yes.
Image
User avatar
CRTGAMER
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 11933
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:59 am
Location: Southern California

Re: Best Video Connections

by CRTGAMER Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:46 am

thelolotov wrote:Playstation 2
    Best non-modded solution: VGA via SoG/Blaze/Xploder bootdisk for games that can be forced into 480p
    NTSC Second best non-modded solution: Component
    NTSC Third best non-modded solution: Svideo
    PAL Second best non-modded solution: RGB
    Best modded solution: Universal VGA cable
I have the Blaze Xploder. It will go up to 1080i, but with poor screen stretch results. It does kick up 480i games but a mixed bag. At Blaze boot disc 480p setting, even the normally 480p games are slightly shifted off center. The best image for 480p supported games is sticking with the game setting itself without the Blaze bootup disc.

The list has Component cables as a second best non modded connection, it should be first with the Blaze software as an after thought. For Blaze to work, either the VGA mod or COMPONENT cables are needed.
Image
CRT vs LCD - Hardware Mods - HDAdvance - Custom Controllers - Game Storage - Wii Gamecube and other Guides:
CRTGAMER Guides in Board Guides Index: http://www.racketboy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=1109425#p1109425

Image
Image
User avatar
thelolotov
32-bit
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 3:17 pm

Re: Best Video Connections

by thelolotov Sun Apr 24, 2011 3:09 am

CRTGAMER wrote:
thelolotov wrote:Playstation 2
    Best non-modded solution: VGA via SoG/Blaze/Xploder bootdisk for games that can be forced into 480p
    NTSC Second best non-modded solution: Component
    NTSC Third best non-modded solution: Svideo
    PAL Second best non-modded solution: RGB
    Best modded solution: Universal VGA cable
I have the Blaze Xploder. It will go up to 1080i, but with poor screen stretch results. It does kick up 480i games but a mixed bag. At Blaze boot disc 480p setting, even the normally 480p games are slightly shifted off center. The best image for 480p supported games is sticking with the game setting itself without the Blaze bootup disc.

The list has Component cables as a second best non modded connection, it should be first with the Blaze software as an after thought. For Blaze to work, either the VGA mod or COMPONENT cables are needed.


Life is really hectic right now, I barely had time to read this post, but thanks for the info, I'll try to remember to update the guide when I get home tomorrow! Feel free to drop me a PM if I forget.
Image
Return to Technical Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests