Talk about just about anything else that is non-gaming here, but keep it clean
Exhuminator
Next-Gen

The Distribution of Users’ Computer Skills

by Exhuminator Tue Dec 06, 2016 3:03 pm

I just finished reading this article from last November:

https://www.nngroup.com/articles/computer-skill-levels/

I don't even know where to begin, howabout:

"Can’t Use Computers = 26% of Adult Population" <--in 2016?!

When I think of advanced computer skills, I think of someone writing custom firmware, or hacking a BIOS, or programming a robotic assembly line with PLC. This article defines advanced computer skills as: “You want to know what percentage of the emails sent by John Smith last month were about sustainability.” And says only 5% of the population can do something that simple?

Granted I might have a big bias here, given I work in IT. But considering how computerized the world is today, I'm having a hard time believing this article can be accurate. What do you think?
PLAY KING'S FIELD.
MrPopo

Re: The Distribution of Users’ Computer Skills

by MrPopo Tue Dec 06, 2016 3:08 pm

I think it's helpful to divide computer skills like you might divide driving skills. A NASCAR driver might have no idea how to tweak the engine, but his driving proficiency is much higher than the average joe. What you see as advanced computer skill is more like someone who knows how to tinker with the engine of his car.
Games Beaten: 2015 2016 2017 2018
Blizzard Entertainment Software Developer - All comments and views are my own and not representative of the company.
Exhuminator
Next-Gen

by Exhuminator Tue Dec 06, 2016 3:23 pm

Yes, but the article is defining computer skills far below what you or I would consider high, no matter how we might define the tiers. And yet it still says the populace is far below even that small standard. I have a hard time believing these statistics, but maybe I'm just biased.
PLAY KING'S FIELD.
MrPopo

by MrPopo Tue Dec 06, 2016 3:33 pm