SMS, Genesis, 32X, Sega CD, Saturn, Dreamcast
User avatar
YoshiEgg25
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 4339
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:26 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Re: DREAMCAST VGA QUESTIONS! come here for everything VGA w/ DC.

by YoshiEgg25 Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:16 pm

elmagiochrisg, saying words like "lynch" isn't going to fly here. This isn't GameSpot forums. That kind of language can be offensive to some people, and I for one won't tolerate it. If you want to use that kind of language, sorry to say this isn't the place for you.
Gaming accomplishments:
Nibbler (marathon): 251,169,160 / Nibbler (one life): 5,263,360 (WR)
Donkey Kong: 423,100 [L12-1] (150th place as of 2019-01-15)
Super Smash Bros. (N64): Ranked top 5 in Wisconsin from Q1 2016 to Q2 2017
Shrek SuperSlam: won largest tournament in game's history (Shrekfest 2018)

Speedrun.com Profile (contains multiple WRs)
User avatar
elmagicochrisg
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 5048
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 4:18 pm
Location: In my own little world...

Re: DREAMCAST VGA QUESTIONS! come here for everything VGA w/

by elmagicochrisg Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:48 am

Image
Last edited by elmagicochrisg on Fri Sep 06, 2013 8:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Image

Dreamcast DUX Limited Edition for sale (new, odorless and sealed)

All forum members are equal. But some are more equal than others. - George Orwell
User avatar
jeffro11
128-bit
 
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 1:27 am
Location: Canada

Re: DREAMCAST VGA QUESTIONS! come here for everything VGA w/ DC.

by jeffro11 Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:39 pm

There is 220uf caps on each RGB line (IN THE VGA BOX) ffs. Stop arguing like little children.
emurozii
16-bit
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 3:54 am

Re: DREAMCAST VGA QUESTIONS! come here for everything VGA w/ DC.

by emurozii Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:53 pm

I was gonna buy this: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/2M-SCART-LEAD-15- ... 45f5759580

If I used it, for converting my scart lead into a vga lead, will it still work like a regular VGA box? Or will there be some issues/differences?

Thanks
estebang
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:24 pm

Re: DREAMCAST VGA QUESTIONS! come here for everything VGA w/ DC.

by estebang Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:33 pm

I just got a new, unopened third-party Retrobit Dreamcast VGA box. It worked for about 5 minutes, but after powering the DC off then on one time, my HDTV stopped receiving a signal from it. After a few attempts at getting it to work, the red LED on the box wouldn't go on anymore.

I've seemingly eliminated all possibilities aside from the box being dead.

-VGA cable worked fine when tested with other devices.

-VGA-in port on the HDTV worked with another device.

-Tested the DC & box with an old VGA computer monitor, still got nothing.

-Switch on the box is set to "PC."

The thing is, the box definitely isn't dead, because I can get composite video and audio through it just fine. Did it just decide to kill its VGA capabilities all of a sudden? I don't imagine there's a whole lot I can do besides getting another one. I can do some minor soldering work if needed.
User avatar
Hobie-wan
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 21718
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 8:28 pm
Location: Under a pile of retro stuff in H-town

Re: DREAMCAST VGA QUESTIONS! come here for everything VGA w/ DC.

by Hobie-wan Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:40 pm

Does it have a PC VGA input on the other side? I'm pretty sure the switch set to PC means it would be letting a signal from that input through instead of using the DC VGA. Try flipping the switch.
estebang
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:24 pm

Re: DREAMCAST VGA QUESTIONS! come here for everything VGA w/ DC.

by estebang Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:45 pm

It doesn't work with either switch setting, and besides, during the short time when it was working I had the switch at PC.

There's only one VGA connector on the box.
User avatar
CRTGAMER
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 11933
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:59 am
Location: Southern California

Re: DREAMCAST VGA QUESTIONS! come here for everything VGA w/ DC.

by CRTGAMER Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:56 pm

emurozii wrote:I was gonna buy this: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/2M-SCART-LEAD-15- ... 45f5759580

If I used it, for converting my scart lead into a vga lead, will it still work like a regular VGA box? Or will there be some issues/differences?

Thanks
No you need a way to electronically convert the signal. Direct cables won't work.

estebang wrote:It doesn't work with either switch setting, and besides, during the short time when it was working I had the switch at PC.

There's only one VGA connector on the box.
The PC position is for VGA out, other position feeds out to Composite and SVideo. Check the pins where the cable connects to the Dreamcast, also make sure the console connection contacts are clean. If the box itself failed, it just might be an easy fix. That little slide switch is not very robust, look inside. You could try jumping a wire across the pins, bypassing the switch. Be careful of where to jump the wires. If it works then maybe add a small external toggle switch, again bypassing the mounted slide switch.
Image
CRT vs LCD - Hardware Mods - HDAdvance - Custom Controllers - Game Storage - Wii Gamecube and other Guides:
CRTGAMER Guides in Board Guides Index: http://www.racketboy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=1109425#p1109425

Image
Image
estebang
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:24 pm

Re: DREAMCAST VGA QUESTIONS! come here for everything VGA w/ DC.

by estebang Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:34 pm

I doubt it has anything to do with the switch. I didn't even touch it until I started having problems. This is how it went:

1. Hooked up DC & box to HDTV, looks and plays fine.

2. Opened tray to remove disc, powered off DC.

3. Powered DC back on later without changing anything, TV no longer receives signal.

4. After a few tests and attempts at getting it to work, red LED in the box stops turning on.

...I guess there's not a whole lot I can do, huh?
User avatar
CRTGAMER
Next-Gen
 
Posts: 11933
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:59 am
Location: Southern California

Re: DREAMCAST VGA QUESTIONS! come here for everything VGA w/ DC.

by CRTGAMER Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:40 pm

estebang wrote:I doubt it has anything to do with the switch. I didn't even touch it until I started having problems. This is how it went:

1. Hooked up DC & box to HDTV, looks and plays fine.

2. Opened tray to remove disc, powered off DC.

3. Powered DC back on later without changing anything, TV no longer receives signal.

4. After a few tests and attempts at getting it to work, red LED in the box stops turning on.

...I guess there's not a whole lot I can do, huh?
The steps I posted doesn't cost anything, give them a shot.
Image
CRT vs LCD - Hardware Mods - HDAdvance - Custom Controllers - Game Storage - Wii Gamecube and other Guides:
CRTGAMER Guides in Board Guides Index: http://www.racketboy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=1109425#p1109425

Image
Image
Return to Sega

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests